New York, NY – Jewelers of America (JA), the national trade association for businesses serving the fine jewelry marketplace, announces the opening of the nomination period for the 21st annual GEM Awards that will take place on Friday, March 17, 2023, at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York. The GEM Awards Committee is now accepting submissions for individual or companies in the categories of Jewelry Design, Marketing & Communications, Media Excellence, Retail Excellence and Watch Excellence.

Nominations will be accepted through August 10, 2022. The GEM Awards Committee reviews all submissions to determine the final GEM Award nominees/honorees in each category. After the nominees are selected and announced, they are judged by a panel of industry experts whose ballots are sent to an independent firm to determine the winners and keep the results confidential. The winners are revealed live at the GEM Awards ceremony.

“The GEM Awards Committee is looking forward to reviewing the submissions and putting together the highest caliber group of nominees and honorees for the 2023 GEM Awards. We are coming off an incredible 20th annual GEM Awards that honored five immensely talented jewelry professionals and brands. 2022 has already displayed the growth, creativity and brilliance within our industry and we look forward to bringing that talent into the spotlight with GEM Awards,” says Jewelers of America Director of PR & Events Amanda Gizzi.

The GEM Awards, the jewelry and watch industry’s premier awards gala, recognizes the outstanding achievements of individuals and companies whose work raises the visibility of fine jewelry and watches. Those who receive a GEM Award have achieved excellence in their field.

The 2023 GEM Awards Committee is Randi Udell Alper, London Jewelers; Sarin Bachmann, JCK & LUXURY – Reed Jewelry Group; David Bonaparte, Jewelers of America; Gannon Brousseau, The Jewelry Group – Emerald Expositions; Annie Doresca, Black in Jewelry Coalition; Tanya Dukes; Dorit Engel, CHANEL; Marion Fasel, The Adventurine; Rebecca Foerster, Hearts On Fire North America; Michelle Graff, National Jeweler; Lauren Harwell Godfrey, Harwell Godfrey; Will Kahn; and Matthew Rosenheim, Tiny Jewel Box.