New York, NY – Jewelers of America (JA), the national trade association for businesses serving the fine jewelry marketplace, announces the opening of the nomination period for the 22nd annual GEM Awards that will take place on Friday, March 8, 2024, at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York. The GEM Awards Committee is now accepting submissions for individuals or companies in the categories of Jewelry Design, Media Excellence and Retail Excellence.

Nominations will be accepted through August 23, 2023. The GEM Awards Committee will review all submissions and select the final GEM Award nominees/honorees in each category. After the nominees are selected, they will be publicly announced before being judged by a panel of industry experts whose ballots are sent to an independent firm to determine the winners and keep the results confidential. The winners are revealed live at the GEM Awards ceremony.

“The GEM Awards Committee anticipates a high volume of talented designers, retailers and media being submitted for nomination consideration at the 2024 GEM Awards. The 2023 GEM Awards reinforced why GEM Awards are the industry’s most coveted awards. It is always a pleasure to recognize the talent that pushes the jewelry and watch industry forward and increases consumer excitement along the way,” says Jewelers of America Director of PR & Events Amanda Gizzi.

The GEM Awards, the jewelry and watch industry’s premier awards gala, recognizes the outstanding achievements of individuals and companies whose work raises the visibility of fine jewelry and watches. Those who receive a GEM Award have achieved excellence in their field. 

The 2024 GEM Awards Committee Chair is Marion Fasel, The Adventurine. The Committee is Randi Udell Alper, London Jewelers; Sarin Bachmann, JCK & LUXURY; David Bonaparte, Jewelers of America; Gannon Brousseau, COUTURE; Annie Doresca, Black in Jewelry Coalition; Tanya Dukes; Dorit Engel, CHANEL; Jennifer Gandia, Greenwich St. Jewelers; Michelle Graff, National Jeweler; Lauren Harwell Godfrey, Harwell Godfrey; Will Kahn; Sally Morrison, De Beers Group; and Matthew Rosenheim, Tiny Jewel Box.